Be careful about these Scams while enjoying time on Facebook – Part 2

By April 14, 2019 TechEasy

You might use Facebook for watching funny cat videos. Or to connect with friends. Or to seek interesting information. But while you are at it there could be crooks trying to steal your money and information. So it would be good for you to be cautious while spending your time enjoying Facebook. The article below alerts you to what you should be careful about. Here’s Part 2. Team RetyrSmart

Be careful about these Scams while enjoying time on Facebook – Part 2

Secret Santa

It sounds like a great idea: Some stranger is setting up a “Secret Santa,” where you send one person a $10 gift, and three other people will send you one, too. But like those old snail mail lottery ticket chains, there’s no guarantee you’ll get your money back in these Facebook scams. If no one else follows through sending your gift, you might not get anything in return. “You just gave your home address to a stranger with a list of stuff you like,” says Velasquez. “Is the return really worth the investment?”

Suspicious tags

If a friend tags you and a handful of other friends in a public post, your first instinct might be to click the link, even if the video looks suspicious. After all, you trust your friend. But don’t be sure that it really was your friend who tagged you. A hacker got into their account and sends you to a site that asks you to download a Flash player update. You click the link … which immediately starts to download malware to your computer, leaving you vulnerable to identity and information theft. Beware of shortened links or sensational-sounding videos, which are red flags for spam posts..

Romantic interest

Be wary of friend requests from people you don’t know. Sometimes, the interactions start out innocently enough: The stranger on the other end is just looking for friends while on deployment and starts opening up, and the two of you swap personal stories. Pretty soon, you feel like “real” friends, and there even seems to be a romantic spark. So when they ask you for money, you jump at the chance to help this close friend. But the other person has been lying the whole time, working to gain your trust. Now that they have it, they’ll claim they need money for a made-up emergency that keeps snowballing and eventually wipes your bank account dry according to the Australian Competition & Consumer Commission. Never accept friend requests from strangers, and don’t send money to anyone-whether you know them in person or not-without verifying the situation.

The “you’ve been hacked” warning

With “cloning” of social media profiles becoming more popular, it makes sense to be aware that it might happen to you too. But don’t believe friends automatically. Reportedly, the same exact message has been sent to countless Facebook users, directly from another friend, but it’s a hoax: “Hi … I actually got another friend request from you yesterday … which I ignored so you may want to check your account. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears … then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too … I had to do the people individually. Good Luck!” While forwarding the message won’t spread malware, it does mean you’re unnecessarily swamping the inbox of everyone you know. Instead, search your own name for an identical account to yours, and ask friends if they’ve had any fishy requests from you. Report the fake profile if the warning is legitimate, and ignore the message if there doesn’t seem to be a threat..

Finding out who’s looked at your profile

MIND AND I

Facebook has (and shares) a ton of your data, so it would make sense that it also would open the door to let you see who’s been clicking your profile. But that’s one line that Facebook won’t cross, according to its official stance. Even third-party apps don’t have the ability to track who’s been looking at you. If you do see an app that claims it can reveal who’s been watching you, report it as a fraud.

Messages from Mark Zuckerberg

 

If Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg himself sends you a message on the social media platform he co-founded, you’ll probably jump to see what he’s saying. But there are dozens of accounts posing as him and COO Sheryl Sandberg, so don’t buy it. The fake big-shots might claim you’ve won money in a “Facebook lottery” and need to send gift cards to claim your winnings. Sorry, but you won’t be getting that money back.

The threat to delete your account

Your stomach drops when you see a direct message or email from Facebook: Your account is being disabled. The message will probably include a link to recover your account, and the page it sends you to will ask for your login information and potentially other personal data. Never click a link without confirming if it’s true, or you could end up with malware, plus giving away your data if you answer the questions. Facebook won’t ask permission before disabling your account, so your best bet is to go straight to the site itself. Still able to log on? Great! Now delete that message. If your account really was taken down, follow the instructions on the site itself rather than clicking any links…….